The main mission of the Portuguese Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Network (PTNMR) is to provide to the scientific community with access to modern and up-to-date NMR spectrometers, housed in scientific institutions with competence and scientific expertise on the use of this type of equipment. The Portuguese NMR network was created with the support of the Portuguese Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) in the frame of a national programme for acquisition and upgrading of scientific equipment. This programme promotes the networking of scientific laboratories. These networks are expected to stimulate the use of advanced facilities by Portuguese researchers and the sharing of the national scientific resources.

The following laboratories are part of the Portuguese NMR Network:

Universidade de AveiroUniversidade de Coimbra through its Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia and the Center for Neuroscience and Cell BiologyUniversidade Nova de Lisboa through its Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia,Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica-CERMAX, and the CENIMAT/I3N, Universidade Técnica de Lisboa through the Instituto Superior Técnico,Universidade da MadeiraUniversidade do Minho and Universidade do Porto through its Faculdade de Ciências.