Dear SPARC memebers,

To encourage and motivate young scientists to participate in the SPARC research program, the SPARC collaboration establishes a yearly award for the best PhD thesis related to atomic physics studies at GSI and FAIR. The first prize will be awarded in 2018 during 15th SPARC Topical Workshop in Lisbon (7-11 September 2018). We invite you to nominate your young colleagues for this year's prize. Please, pay your attention to the nomination rules which can be found in the  PDF file.

We kindly ask you to send your nominations until July 31st to the Chair of the Selection Committee (Andrey Surzhykov, email:

With the best wishes,
Reinhold Schuch, José Paulo Santos, Thomas Stöhlker, Andrey Surzhykov